List or table: Halper 460

List or table Halper 460


Input date

In PGP since 2021


Memorial lists. "Contains five lists. 1. ll. 1-16: The Gaonim of the Yeshivah in Jerusalem (and later in exile), from 1046 to about 1138, that is the dynasty from Solomon ha-Kohen to Matsliaḥ ha-Kohen; 2. l. 17 - l. 9: The Gaonim of the Yeshivah in Fustat; 3. l. 10 - l. 10: The Dynasty of Nagidim of Egypt. The first legible name in this line is that of Mevorakh ben Sa'adia (1094-1111). The list ends with Nethaniel, who served immediately before Maimonides. See Mann: The The Jews in Egypt and in Palestine under the Fāṭimid caliphs / Jacob Mann. London : Oxford Univ. Press, 1920, v. 2, p. 249-250; M. Cohen: Jewish self-government in medieval Egypt : the origins of the office of head of the Jews, ca. 1065-1126 / Marc R. Cohen. Princeton : Princeton University Press, 1980, p.132-156; 4. ll. 11-20: The list of a family of ha-Khamim. Mostly illegible; 5. l. 21- 11: Leaders of the Fustat community; concluded with a prayer for the Community, of which one line is extant." Information from Penn catalog.

Halper 460 p. 1

p. 1


Halper 460 p. 2

p. 2

Halper 460 p. 3

p. 3

Halper 460 p. 4

p. 4
Image Permissions Statement
  • Halper 460: University of Pennsylvania Libraries